A new beginning

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Jess and I am a twenty-seven year-old wife, mother, Catholic convert, breastfeeding counselor, knitter, lover of classic films, and, most recently, blogger. My husband is a thirty-three year-old U.S. Navy Veteran and we have been married for three years. We have two children; Gloria and Anchor, or Magoo and Birdie as I often find myself calling them. Gloria (Magoo) is three years-old and as spirited as they come. She has packed a huge personality into her small frame and she never ceases to amaze us with her ability to swing back-and-forth from a wit that is beyond her years and a seeetness that can’t help but warm your heart. Anchor (Birdie) is three months-old and he’s our little tender hearted warrior. During pregnancy he was diagnosed with a congenital heart defect and was then delivered early because I had Cholestasis of pregnancy. Between his heart defect and the fact that he was born 3 weeks, 1 day early we decided that he needed a strong name and he thus became Anchor. Despite his strength he is also very sensitive and tender hearted. He’s definitely a mama’s boy.

I was once an avid writer, but that stopped when Magoo was born. I just stopped taking the time to write, despite the fact that it has always been somewhat therapeutic for me. I feel that I am at a place in my life where I could benefit from having a source of therapy. Not to mention, this journey of motherhood has taught me so many things that I feel are worthy of sharing with others.

I chose to title my blog Circle City Mama because we will be moving back to Indianapolis in less than a month. My husband is an Indianapolis native and I am originally from Bedford, IN – the limestone capital of the world. We are purchasing a home in Beech Grove and we are very excited to start this new chapter in our lives. 

Leave a Reply

