New Home & New Shop

The blog hasn’t seen any new content recently because we were finally able to close on our house on July 1 and since then it has been a whirlwind of packing, moving, and unpacking. When we took possession of the house, we decided that we wanted to paint the main living spaces; the dining room, living room, family room, and bedrooms. We chose to hold off on the kitchen and the two bathrooms. It didn’t seem like such a big undertaking at the time, but once we were in the midst of it we were slapped with just how overwhelming it is. It didn’t help matters that we started out using Dutch Boy paint, which I would never recommend to anyone. The paint went on unevenly and was runny. Apparently this is a complaint that is so often heard that when I called Dutch Boy the woman just asked for the paint information, our pertinent information, and then told us to send our receipt to them and they would reimburse us. We are still awaiting our reimbursement check. For me, the colors in a house can really be what makes it feel like home to me. The house started out a nice, neutral color in all rooms, but I really wanted something that would personalize the home and make it ours.

Dining room before

Dining room before

Dining room after

Dining room after

On the left you can see what the living room/dining room looked like before, and on the right you see the after.

We ultimately hired one of my husband’s co-workers to finish the painting for us because it was driving us mad. He did a wonderful job and it saved us from pulling our hair out. At present, the only thing left to do are a few trim pieces in Magoo’s room, which should not take me long at all. Unpacking and finding a place for everything has been slow-going, but I keep reminding myself that I have two little ones to care for. I’m not able to pull all-nighters and get a house set up in a matter of a day or two like I used to. Plus, we own this home. This is truly ours. I want everything to have a place and I’m being super particular about where I’m placing items. I want the house to flow and for things to be easily accessible when we need them. This all takes time and planning. It is a tiresome process, but it will be so worth it in the end.

One thing I’ve found that I love is personalizing our home – especially our bedrooms. I have so many ideas of quotes and prints that I want for the children’s rooms, but some of them are difficult to find, or if I am able to find them they are very expensive. I’m all about doing things on a budget, so I started trying to figure out how to do some of it on my own. I used to have a pretty good background in graphic design, but I haven’t done any graphic design in quite some time. Were my abilities rusty? I started tinkering around and surprised myself that it all came flooding back. I’ve had a blast making printables lately and I’ve even started an Etsy Shop. I’d like to introduce Ankey Glo Printables to everyone. I think my favorite printable, thus far, is the one for Heart Warriors. Our son, who we lovingly refer to as Birdie, is a heart warrior. He was born with an ASD and a cleft mitral valve. That particular printable has great meaning to me. Below you will find a sampling of what Ankey Glo Printables offers, but I am also able to do custom items.
Anchor Hope Birth Announcement Print Pray Hope Dont Worry Why Fit In CHD warrior

Leave a Reply

