Jazzed Up Tuna Salad

Jeremy, who has never been one to shy away from work, has been working particularly hard this week by doing lawn work for people after he puts in a full 9-11 hours at his regular job. Since he has been working in the heat and getting home late we’ve been having light meals that are easy for me to make ahead. I told him this evening that I would have tuna salad waiting for him when he got home. I know, I know…tuna salad. It’s pretty bland usually and doesn’t make for that great of a meal. Unless, of course, you jazz it up, which is precisely what I did.Jazzed Up Tuna Salad

What You’ll Need:

  • 3 cans of tuna
  • 1 lunchbox sized Granny Smith apple
  • 16 oz cottage cheese (I used small curd)
  • 1/2 cup Miracle Whip
  • 1 small red onion
  • 3 hard boiled eggs
  • 1 tbs Dijon mustard
  1. Dice the onion and apples into small pieces. Mix all ingredients together. Enjoy on your favorite bread, pita pocket, or crackers. Try it. You’ll thank me.

It’s that simple and it tastes delicious. The apples add just the slightest hint of unexpected sweetness. If you don’t have apples available I think pears would work just fine, too. I’m excited for Jeremy to come home and try it because I think it will be a hit.

Leave a Reply

