Getting Fit the Right (for me) Way

I’m sure by now everyone has heard of the 21 Day Fix, or at least heard of some aspect of Beachbody. I was skeptical at first and thought it was probably one of the new diet/exercise fads and I had zero interest in trying it. I’m well within a healthy weight according to my BMI, but the problem is, after having baby #2 things shifted a bit and my clothes just don’t fit the same way they used to. My endurance and strength are also laughable anymore. I have a friend, Emily, who is a Beachboy coach. It was through watching her workout videos that I realized I needed to make a change in my life. Emily looks great and seems to feel amazing. Her ability to do the workouts with ease made me wish I could do the same. For awhile I watched her, silently, and thought, “I could never do that.” Finally, I decided I needed to change my thought process and start thinking, “I can do that if I put my mind to it.” I want to energetic and feel good because I owe that to myself, my husband, and my children.

Beachbody has a lot of products to offer; Shakeology, various workout programs, etc., but I was mainly interested in just trying a workout. I know for optimal results and health I should commit to it 100%, but my budget does not allow for me to purchase Shakeology right now. I was put into contact with someone who was offering the 21 Day Fix DVD workout for free and she was kind enough to send it to me. I started the workout today.

I took some video of myself while working out because so often exercise videos seem to make us feel worse about ourselves. Look at all these beautiful people effortlessly completing these exercises – what’s wrong with me? The fact is, nothing is wrong with you, me, or anyone else that doesn’t look perfect while exercising. Let’s face it; I make some ugly faces when I workout and there are many times I have to stop for a breather because I feel like I can’t go on any longer. Unfortunately, my phone stopped recording pretty soon into the workout, so you won’t be able to see me at my worst, but you’ll definitely see that I’m not one of the hard-bodied beauties that you usually see in an exercise video. You’ll also notice that while attempting to work out I also have a baby in the background and a 3 year-old having a tantrum. That’s #momlife.

So, join me on this 21 Day journey and take comfort in knowing that we’re real people and there’s nothing wrong with that. It’s okay to sweat, it’s okay to make ugly faces, it’s okay to grunt, and it’s okay to stop if your body is screaming for you to.

I am in no way affiliated with Beachbody. I am not a coach and I am receiving nothing from Beachboy or any of their coaches for writing about their workouts in my blog. I am just a curious individual who wants to know whether or not these workouts work as well as they claim. I’ll be happy if at the end of the 21 days I have a little more strength, flexibility, and stamina.

If you’re interested in learning more about Beachbody or ordering their products, you can do so here.

Leave a Reply

