Keep Calm and Carry the Babies!

I love babywearing. I started wearing Magoo in a pocket sling when she was a newborn and then got a Didymos woven wrap for my birthday when she was 8  months-old. I’ve used ring slings, woven wraps, soft structured carriers. I’ve tried Beco, Ergo, Tula, Didymos, Natibaby, Ellevill, Little Frog, Maya Wrap, Sleeping Baby Productions, Two Momma Designs, Oscha, etc. I know what I like and what I don’t like, and I know what works well and what could be improved upon.

I was offered the MiaMily Hipster 3-in-1 Baby Hip Carrier in exchange for an honest, unbiased review. I received the carrier a little over a month ago and it has been my go-to carrier since.

Upon opening the box, I noted that this carrier is a bit bulkier than any that I have used in the past due to the structured seat. I wasn’t sure how I felt about the bulkiness at first, but it has proven to not be an issue for our family. The structured seat is actually what makes Birdie enjoy this particular carrier so well. In our other soft structured carriers he does not sit up as high so he is unable to see as much of what is going on around him, which causes frustration after awhile. This particular carrier keeps him seated high on my back and he is easily able to see and engage with those around us.

In addition to Birdie enjoying the new view, I find that the carrier distributes weight in a different way than any other SSC I have used. The waist belt sits slightly lower than most carriers – closer to your hips – which takes some of the weight off of your back and shoulders. I have worn the carrier for extended periods of time (I wore it while we went bowling!) and I found it to be very comfortable.

I do, on occasion, still use my Beco. Usually I choose it if we are just making a quick run into a store for one or two items, but if I’m going to be wearing Birdie for any length of time I always reach for the Hipster. I also always wear the Hipster if I suspect Birdie might fall asleep. The Beco does not provide enough head support for him and his head winds up flopping around, whereas the Hipster provides the perfect hood to hold his sleeping head in place. I didn’t think I would find a SSC that I would reach for more often than my woven wraps, but I have only wrapped Birdie once or twice since we received the Hipster.

Magoo, who will be 4 next month, just had to try the Hipster. Check out how fun this thing is!
FullSizeRender-13

Seriously, if you love baby wearing and you’re looking for the perfect SSC to add to your stash…this is it!

Leave a Reply

